March 19, 2009

Clean Elections Update  

Dear Clean Elections Supporters:

We are fast approaching the deadline for pieces of legislation to move from their committee and Chamber of origin. If our Public Campaign Financing Act (H2764) is not taken up this coming week, it will die in committee. So if you have not made your calls to the members of Subcommittee A (below), please do so as soon as possible. If youíve called already, please consider calling again!

Del. Barbara Fleischauer, Chair (D-Monongalia) - 340-3169 barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Bonnie Brown (D -Kanawha) - 340-3106 bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Mike Caputo (D-Marion) - 340-3249 caputo@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha) - 340-3275 patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Patti Schoen (R-Putnam) - 340-3141 pschoen@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Sally Susman (D-Raleigh) -340-3183 ssusman@mail.wvnet.edu

Del. Robert Tabb (D-Jefferson) - 340-3274 rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

The public financing legislation for Supreme Court Justices (S311) is still under discussion with House sponsors who are interested in moving the proposal forward. We are hopeful that this bill will be worked out and bought up for consideration next week.

Donít forget our two upcoming events, at which we invite you to join us! Please let us know if you need more information or directions:

Sunday, March 22 at 9:30 AM - Julie Archer will speak about Clean Elections to the Unitarian Universalist discussion group in Charleston (500 Kanawha Blvd. W.)

Saturday, March 28 at 10:00 AM - Carol Warren will speak, and Labor Council members will participate in a panel discussion of Clean Elections, in the basement conference room at the Marshall Student Center, Huntington. A continental breakfast will be provided.

Thanks for all your help - and please make those calls!

Carol Warren
WV Citizens for Clean Elections
(304) 847-5121
 

Voter-Owned Elections

Citizens for Clean Elections P.O. Box 6753 Huntington, WV 25773-6753 304-522-0246